Health & Wellness Lifestyle Mental Health Mindful Living

Patanjali Yogasutra – Eight Limbs- Five Yamas and Satya

Patanjali Yogasutra, Eight Limbs, Five Yamas, and Satya

Today you grieve for someone; tomorrow there would be another. And then there would be someone to rejoice for. Life goes on like this. Just like Five Yamas, which are unconditioned by Time, Class and Place.

How to Practice the 5 Yamas of Yoga?

For the uninitiated, Yama (Ethical & Social Restraints) form the First of the Eight limbs of Patanjali Yogasutra, the other seven being – Niyama (Moral & Personal Observance), Asana (Postures or seat, a firm positioning of the body connected to Earth), Pranayama (Control of Life force generally through awareness of breathing), Pratyahara (Withdrawal of senses, non-attachment), Dharna (Concentration), Dhyana (Meditation), and Samadhi (State of Ecstasy).

Each one of us has been introduced to Yamas in form of discipline or practice. There are five Yamas: Ahimsa (non-violence), Satya (truthfulness), Asteya (non-stealing), Brahmacharya (sense control), and Aparigraha (non greed or non-hoarding).

  • Ahimsa is more than non-violence when it comes to Yog. It stands for compassion, adoption of considerate position towards all beings, and does no harm, in letter or spirit.
  • Satya is speaking & behaving in truthful manner. It should never come in conflict with practicing Ahimsa and forms the bedrock for any relationship.
  • Asteya has a much wider connotation than just Non-Stealing. It means to not take anything that doesn’t belong to us. It honors the trust beings bestow in each other.
  • Brahmacharya is channelizing our energies in the right direction, not celibacy per se. It is the practice of responsible sexual behavior with respect to our goal of moving toward the truth.
  • Aparigraha is to be contented. It is the neutralization of desire to acquire & hold things that are not necessary. Aparigraha also implies letting go of our attachments and an understanding that impermanence is the only constant.

These are Universal code of conduct, and the journey of Yogi starts from here.


Charu Lata is the Founder & President of YUJ.CLUB aka YUJ Spiritual Foundation. Recently YSF is recognized by one of the leading University in the category of “Best Service Award for Significant National Contribution – Health & Wellness”. We are grateful for the support of our well-wishers who made this journey possible. Connect with us on FacebookTwitterLinkedIn or email


patanjali yoga sutras for beginners

You Might Also Like

1 Comment

  • Reply
    pranita deshpande
    October 26, 2020 at 3:52 pm

    I have so many spiritual posts , can you accept guest post on spirituality?

Leave a Reply